Three Branches of the Federal Government

Three Branches of the Federal Government
2 mn read

The United States Constitution provides the procedure of how the nation is governed. As such, the leaders in the U.S wanted a sound and just government that would provide equal services and opportunities to its people (Bowles & McMahon, 2014). Besides, the leaders wanted to protect the freedom of the people and provide systems of checks and balances to the government. They believed they could achieve their inspiration and dream when they had three branches of the government, which were separate and independent. These branches include the judiciary, legislature, and executive (Wilson, 2017). The first three articles of the U.S constitution described the separation and functions of the three branches.

Legislature as a branch of the government consists of two houses: the Senate and the House of Representatives. One of the primary responsibilities of the legislative branch is lawmaking (Wilson et al. 2016). It can also amend the existing laws. Laws is discussed and voted on in Congress. Members of the Senate are drawn from all the states whereby every state should produce two senators. These senators are expected to pass laws that will benefit the citizens. Similarly, the House of Representatives consists of 435 members. The number of legislators in each state depends on the population of that country. For instance, a highly populated state like California has more representatives than the state of Rhode Island. The state’s population determines the number of representatives. Therefore, the representatives are elected and serve a two-year term. The House elects the speaker who becomes its leader. Notably, both houses elected leaders of their parties in the House (Wilson, 2017). The leaders of the party with majority numbers are known as the majority leader. The side with minority members elects their leader, who becomes the leader of the minority.

The president, who makes the law official, heads the executive as a branch. It comprises of a member of the cabinet who leads fifteen central government departments of the United States (Bowles & McMahon, 2014). The cabinet advises the president on critical national matters. In addition, the cabinet is regarded as the implementer of government policies. Members of the cabinet ensure the day-to-day operation of the government.

The judiciary branch of the government is responsible for overseeing the systems of a court in the United States. Through cases brought before courts, the judiciary interprets the meaning of the U.S Constitution as well as the laws passed by the legislature. At the top of the judiciary is the Supreme Court, which rules on matters of constitutionality or unconstitutionality (Wilson, 2017). The Supreme Court comprises of nine judges headed by the chief justice. The president nominates the judges and forwards the names to the Senate for approval. The judges have the security of tenure and have no term limits (Wilson et al. 2016). This will protect their independence and avoid any influence from anybody. They are expected to uphold just and the constitution of the United States (Bowles & McMahon, 2014). The Supreme Court is the biggest arm of the judicial sector, and its decision binds all other courts below it.

In summary, three major arms run the Federal Government, and each of these arms has its own roles, which are clearly distinct from each other. The constitution provides the basis and procedures for forming these branches, and the branches are all independent of each other.

Leave a Reply

Reading is essential for those who seek to rise above the ordinary.


Welcome to MyArticles, an author-oriented website. A place where words matter. Discover without further ado our countless community stories.

Build great relations

Explore all the content from MyArticle community network. Forums, Groups, Members, Posts, Social Wall and many more. You can never get tired of it!

Become a member

Get unlimited access to the best stories and articles on MyArticles, support our lovely authors and share your stories with the World.